The Changing Seasons, February 2024

Reflecting on the month past

There were many medical appointments this month, for myself (wellness checks which led to other issues), Younger Child (possible heart repair) and my Dad (he returned from a trip to Thailand with symptoms of malaria).

Good and not so great things often come hand in hand, not unlike the photo on the left, where the pretty flowers sits very close to some trash left behind. The question is, what will we do about it?

The little inconveniences the wellness checks revealed (high blood pressure, high cholesterol) have spurred me to a return to healthier eating. My BP is now stable (without medication) and I return in 3 months to recheck my cholesterol. I am optimistic that I will be able to manage both.

Younger Child’s potential heart repair has been on the horizon for many years. A recent MRI reconnected us with her original heart surgeon from more than 20 years ago – it was a delightful reunion, and his advice (run more tests to have a better idea of what’s happening with her heart) gave us peace of mind.

Dad’s tests at A&E revealed that he had neither malaria nor dengue. The Doc said it could be the beginnings of flu. His symptoms have since abated and he is well on the mend.

On days when anxiety threaten to overwhelm, I find respite in discoveries like this unexpected roof top garden at Aperia Mall (left photo) where I was waiting for Younger Child to finish her dance class. Or this serene Kallang River sunrise (right image) on one of my morning runs.

In my attempts to eat healthier, I discovered new foods, cottage cheese being one of them. I’ve seen it on the grocery shelf but never tried. Do you have a favourite way to enjoy cottage cheese?

left: low-fat cottage cheese with plum compote, right: cottage cheese with dried fruit & nut on a self-baked bagel

I also discovered sprouted mung beans at an Indian grocery store: why did I not know how delicious & versatile these are? They add such a delightful crunch to my bowls!

left: 2 kinds of vegetable stirfries, topped with sprouts, right: soft tofu & glass noodle soup, topped with sprouts

I rediscovered the delights of pressed tofu sheets (baiye tofu) – they make fun protein-rich noodles. Have you tried these before?

from left, clockwise: 1) bean dip with tofu skin noodle salad, broccoli, tomatoes, carrot sticks, self made tortilla crisps, 2) stirfried tofu skin noodles with bittergourd & tomato, 3) egg, sweet peppers & noodle skin salad

How was your February?

About The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is a monthly project where bloggers around the world share their thoughts and feelings about the month just gone. We all approach this slightly differently, though generally with an emphasis on the photos we’ve taken during the month.

For many of us, looking back over these photos provides the structure and narrative of our post, so each month is different. Some focus on documenting the changes in a particular project — such as a garden, an art or craft project, or a photographic diary of a familiar landscape.

But in the end, it is your changing season, and you should approach it however works for you.

There are no fixed rules around post length or photo number — just a request that you respect your readers’ time and engagement.

Tags and ping-backs

Tag your photos with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons so that others can find them

Create a ping-back to Brian at Bushboys World or this post, so that we can update it with links to all of yours.

Roundup

43 Comments

  1. Some of those dishes look similar to what we’re currently eating here in Vietnam. Glad those health issues are sorting themselves out. And hope your March is going well Ju-Lyn. Keep well, healthy and positive. Sending love. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to know that you, your young child and your father are now doing well.

    Switching to a more healthier diet is definitely a good choice and I’m quite sure that you will achieve your goals.

    And these wonderful treats looks just so tasty 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi, Ju-Lyn – I am so sorry to hear about these health issues for you and your family. I too try to eat as healthy as possible, and to get all of the nutrients that I need through food. Recently, I have also been adding supplements to support areas that my predominantly vegetarian diet may not be addressing. Similar to Bernie who recommended a ‘cholesterol fighter’ to you, I use ground flax seeds (instead of the metimucil she recommended). As recommended by a medical practioner, each morning I take two tablespoons of ground flax seeds mixed into a glass of water. These two tablespoons alone contain 4 grams of polyunsaturated fatty acids (including omega 3s), 3.8 grams of dietary fiber, 36 mgs of calcium, 2.56 g of protein as well as iron and potassium. In addition to being nutritionally powerful, more and more studies suggest that consuming 1 – 2 tbs of flaxseeds daily can reduce total cholesteral and low-density lipoprotein (LDL or bad cholesterol levels). At least this has worked for me.

    Like

    1. That is my challenge too, Donna, being vegetarian. I find getting enough variety and quantity of protein challenging as well. Thank you for the headsup on flaxseeds. It is my new favourite thing to bake into breads and cake. I am thinking that ground makes it more bioavailable.

      Like

  4. A cholesterol “helper” is a Fibre supplement called Metamucil. It helps take the bad cholesterol down the track. It’s worth trying for sure. Glad your dad recovered all right. As we age these things are harder to bounce back from. Bernie

    Like

    1. My parents take psyllium husk which I think is similar & easily available here. Maybe I will try it again – last time I did, I found myself very dehydrated. And you are right, it takes a lot longer to bounce back from ailments these days. Patience, patience.

      Like

  5. While it’s not been the easiest of months for you, somehow you always find a way to lift your spirits, and ours. I’m pleased your father didn’t have malaria (or dengue fever) and that you have good advice about your daughter’s condition. I hope the tests go well. And I’m sure rethinking some of your eating habits will help address your own issues. I was diagnosed with slightly high cholesterol some years ago and I manage to keep it on the right side of borderline with a few changes to my diet 🙂 Whether healthy or otherwise, your food photos always make me hungry! Anyway, here’s my February for you: https://www.toonsarah-travels.blog/gallery-a-february-selection-2024/

    Like

    1. It is very encouraging and comforting to hear that your efforts towards healthier eating paid off, and with all your travel too. I am inclined to keep at it as it is much more preferable to medication, which typically doesn’t sit well with me: if there is a side-effect listed, I am likely to experience it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad all has worked out well so far, Ju-Lyn. Cottage cheese is very bland but you’ve found good ways to add interest. I suppose the same applies to tofu. Ages since I’ve had mung beans. Not commonly found here. I hope the tests for your daughter go well. Happy March to you all!

    Like

  7. What a month Ju-Lyn!!! It’s great that all has settled down.
    I must remind myself to never look at your posts before meals or when I am hungry. All look so good.
    Cottage cheese is in a Hot Cakes recipe – Nigella Lawson? I love bean sprouts but not readily available here fresh.
    I am in the middle of mine so hopefully out later this afternoon or tonight 😁

    Like

    1. An extremely belated response Barbara – I am terribly behind. Apologies.

      Thinking about cottage cheese again – I have since tried savoury & sweet accompaniments. I think I like them all. I have to admit I prefer regular to low-fat, although the latter is probably healthier for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It has been an insane month, hasn’t it? Good things, scary things, beautiful things, complexities galore … and now we move into March. Out of this craziness we both got beautiful photographs. How do we manage to extract beauty in the midst of madness? And yet we do.

    As usual, you food photographs blew me away. Congratulations on surviving the months and let us hope for a better month coming up.

    Like

    1. A very belated response Marilyn – apologies and thank you for the thought: how indeed do we extract beauty in the midst of madness. This is something I’ve pondered for a long time: how adversity can still bear the fruits of joy, love and loveliness. I really do think it is a choice we make – deciding to look for the silver linings, the tiny blooms which warrant searching, the bird song which we hear only if we listen very carefully.

      Like

  9. You’re right Ju-Lyn when you say things all come together. I hope things continue to improve for you. Can’t say I’m a fan of any of the food you have mentioned! However my hubby loves all these ingredients. I often make stir fried bitter marrow with spicy black bean sauce and scrambled egg for him.

    Like

    1. Appreciate very much the well wishes, dear Ali!

      Ah yes, I remember – you and Hubby have extremely different tastes in food, particularly spice levels. I did not know that bittergourd goes byh “bitter marrow”, although it does make a great deal of sense. I don’t put black bean sauce in my egg/gourd scramble, but it does sound delicious (I think that’s how some restaurants do it, right?)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sorry to hear it has been a rough month for you, Ju-Lyn. Delighted to hear you always look on the bright side. Your healthy eating looks delicious. I am glad your dad seems to have muscled though his illness. And I will keep your daughter (and all of you) in my thoughts. Hopefully her tests reveal something minor. Best to you. Happy March.

    Like

      1. Hey Laurie, appreciate very much for your well wishes and for cheering us on! We are all very optimistic and are having a good March (Younger Child is celebrating her birthmonth, so it has been filled with celebration).

        I am enjoying the cottage cheese with all sorts of fruit (apples, raisins, dried mango)

        Like

    1. Dear dear Donna, thank you for your well wishes and for your continued thought for us.

      Loving Husband and I have always worked very hard to look on the brighter side of things – and I eventually will get there even though I struggle harder with existential hopelessness and anxiety.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment