seating

Happy Place, Happy Space

Running along the Kallang River, past Clarke Quay and other civic district spots, is one of my favourite running routes. In the early morning, there are few people about and I have the place mostly to myself.

Which makes viewing public art easier, not having to wait my turn or enjoy a clear view. Like this epic work by one of my favourite muralists, YC Yip, in collaboration with tobyato.

Adorning the length of a block of a converted warehouse, aptly called The Warehouses (Block B), the facility is still being renovated.

Fronting The Warehouses’ facade is the “Fire Fish”, a modern myth created by artists Yip Yew Chong and tobyato which takes reference from Clarke Quay’s heritage as a Teochew enclave. Its elements are inspired by the firewood trade in the area, its distinctive red and white Teochew bumboats that once lined the Singapore River, and the iconic storytellers entertaining the coolies on Read Bridge.

Markets Insider

“Fire Fish”, collaboration by YC Yip & Tobyato

Many of the panels feature “seating” of some kind, which is the One Word Sunday prompt hosted by Debbie at Travel with Intent.

🐟 🐟 🐟 🐟 🐟

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

🐟 🐟 🐟 🐟 🐟

This post is my contribution to

40 Comments

    1. So happy to have you visit Selma. Sorry this response is belated. It has been a bit of a crazy time so am catching up in this space whenever I can.

      Like

  1. Oh wow, they’re simply stunning. What a great place to run, though I’d be stopping half the time to admire all the art! 😊 Thanks for sharing. x

    Like

    1. Our murals in Singapore are commissioned, not spontaneous nor found in the wild as like many I love in Brick Lane, for example. But you are right, they do work to preserve heritage while beautifying the space.

      Like

    1. I hear you – entertaining runs go super quick! and well, are fun and entertaining.

      Lovely to hear from you, Nancy. I note that your blogsite is still closed to comments – I guess the trouble with spammers still happens.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve watched some of these mural artists painting – it is really hard, hot work under the blistering sun. And when it is on this large a scale, they work on cranes from a height too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment