maximalism

Happy Place, Happy Space

Maximalism is an artistic movement that stands in stark contrast to minimalism. While minimalism famously preaches “Less is more,” maximalism embraces the opposite mantra of “More is more.”

ArchDaily.com

I will borrow more is more to describe an evening Loving Husband and I enjoyed this week at Sinpopo.

Loving Husband and I celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary. We don’t always dine out on this occasion but we have had our eye on this little cafe found at Tangs Department Store.

They very recently started an a la carte Dinner Buffet. Unlike the sort of buffet which presents all the food as a spread laid out, we were given several order forms and invited to order as many and as much as we wanted, delivered to our table.

The cafe was fully subscribed and the service did take a while, but we weren’t in any hurry, so we managed to try everything we wanted to.

From top left, clockwise: Jambu Jackfruit Salad (my favourite of the evening), Fried Soft-centred Sambal Egg (Loving Husband’s favourite), Crayfish Curry, Chicken Satay, Beef Cheek Rendang, Sotong Hitam (squid)

From top left, clockwise: Pulut Hitam (black rice pudding with coconut milk), Eggplant & okra sambal, coconut rice & sayur lodeh (vegetable in coconut stew), chicken rendang, char siew (roast pork), prawn sambal

Portions are designed for one, so we ordered accordingly. Even with “more is more” in mind, we only had double portions of the salad and the char siew (roast pork). Very restrained, I thought. What do you think? Have you experienced an a la carte buffet before? Would you prefer the regular type of buffet spread or this a la carte buffet which allows you to order the things you would like?

~~~~~~

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

This post is my contribution to

Feature Photo is a maximalised compilation of our favourite dishes from our evening at Sinpopo.

41 Comments

  1. Congrats on 27. Neither of you look old enough to have been married that long! Wow – that looks like one amazing bill. I haven’t felt comfortable at a buffet in a LONG time. This would be much better. Bernie

    Like

  2. Happy wedding anniversary!! What a wonderful occasion to enjoy a lovely meal on this special day. Food looks delightful and I like how you can try a little bit of everything…can savor the taste more.
    And thank you for sharing my post on your blog! Appreciate it.

    Like

        1. One of my favourite aspects of this blogspace: meeting unlikely, like-minded, diverse BlogFriends. It broadens my perspective and brings the world closer!

          Like

  3. So curious about the black rice pudding! We used to have a Chinese buffet here that operated the same system and the food was great. Unfortunately they struggled to make a profit and closed around the time of Covid.

    Like

  4. I so often visit your blog and come away hungry! Today is no exception, this food all looks (and sounds) delicious 🙂 I’ve never come across an a la carte buffet before but I like the sound of it much more than a regular buffet as I’m always a bit wary of food that has been sitting around for I don’t know how long! Plus, it’s nicer to be served at the table than have to go and get what you want 😀

    Like

    1. And in the wake of Covid and flu on the rise, the thought of everyone else breathing on my food before I get to you is not enticing. 🥴

      Appreciate so much your delighting in the food with me!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks wonderful, Ju-Lyn.
    I hate buffets where the food has been sitting on display for ages and you just dollop stuff on your plate. This is the way to do it – a small menu and served beautifully.
    All of this is very tempting but the one I really must try is the Egg Sambal.

    Like

    1. Not only does the hygiene of the spread make me pause, the sheer quantity often leaves me in a dither. It is quick though, and particularly helpful at breakfast when I used to stay at hotels for work travel.

      Sinpopo plated very beautifully. And the Egg Sambal was certainly high on our favourites list.

      Like

  6. Oh Ju-Lyn, what a feast. You had me a Rendang, one of my favourites. I make a good Rendang but not for quite a while now.
    The Sambal egg looked interesting, I would enjoy that I think. Char siew and prawn sambal Are something I would order too 😋😋

    Like

    1. Ah, you like spicy food – I don’t think I knew that, Brian! Wow, you make rendang – that is quite a labour of love. The sambal egg was Loving Husband’s favourite (his is usually the beef rendang) – I wonder how they do it: the yolk was runny, the white not overhard, and it had a gentle coating of crumb and fried.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sambal Egg sounds like a Scotch Egg Malay style 😁 Oh yes I do like spicy foods. When I first left my parents home, one of the people in the share house and I learnt to cook from Charmaine Solomons Complete Asian Cookbook. We worked together too and some lunches we went to the Malaya for lunch, usually a beef rendang and perhaps a hokien mein

        Like

Leave a comment