Black & White Pound Cake

Roundup of The Changing Seasons, July 2022

Younger Child and I wanted to bake, just because. Rifling through recipes we’d printed off for a rainy day, we found King Arthur Baking‘s Black & White Pound Cake.

The recipe calls for a bundt-tin but I used my favourite loaf sleeves, minus the frosting, so I could gift one easily. Maybe time time I will try it in a bundt for a more grownup, celebratory look, this time with the dark chocolate frosting.

One of the best things about a pound cake is that it keeps so well. I just had the last slice this morning (many days later) with cream cheese frosting that I happened to have lying around – thinking you Betsy at Motherhood & Martial Arts

It’s almost time for The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is coming soon on 31 August (7:00 am, Singapore time). Hope you will join Brian and I for a wrap-up of June (follow this link to find out more about The Changing Seasons).

Thank you to those of you who shared July 2022 with us:

25 Comments

  1. To think I nearly missed this post which brought me so much delight and laughter! 1. Because, yes, I absolutely WAS thinking, “Oh, no frosting? But it isn’t even Lent yet.” and 2. Because you ADDED frosting and thought me! I’m so very very touched. I think everyone should think of me when frosting is involved. 😉 But mostly I love that we have this little inside joke still running strong. And furthermore, that cake looks delightful. Glad you found occasion to use LOAF pans because Of Course they are the best. 🙂

    And p.s. 8 days (at least in my time zone.) The countdown begins! 😉

    Like

    1. I am very glad you found your Frosting Easter Egg!!! since I did leave it specifically for you 🤣

      Thank you for the count down … for us both! Wishing you an exciting birthday month – I can’t wait to read all about your birthday celebrations!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad I found it too!

        I hope you have a blessed birthday month. I had the band at the brewery planned again like last year, and was so excited, but then the brewery canceled it. I’m quite sad about that now. Will have to come up with something else fun to do. :/

        Like

  2. We are a non-icing family. Icing to me is always too sweet. I like the cake by itself. I even go really lightly on jams and jelly and I like those super thin oreos without all the stuffing. I don’t even like ice cream with a lot of stuff in it, except fruit. I like a lot of fruit. That cake will be beautiful baked any old way.

    Like

      1. Even as a kid, I used to scrape it off and then eat the cake. Mostly now I don’t make cake. I make fruit breads. In fact, I have three ripe bananas waiting for me in the kitchen. It’s banana bread day tomorrow and I might even add in a gingerbread, just for that wonderful smell.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment