Blueberry Streusel Loaf

Friendly Friday Challenge: my favourite cake shape

“I have blueberries I need to use up; what shall I make?”

“Something with streusel, please,” Loving Husband asked, ever so nicely.

“Let’s bake a loaf,” I decided, since it is my favourite cake shape: so easy to pour the batter (unlike the trickier shapes Younger Child prefers, like mini cupcakes and baby bundts) and a breeze to slice!

Do you have a preference for a cake shape: round? cupcake? square or rectangle?

🫐 🫐 🫐

My go-to blueberry muffin recipe is offered by the NYTimes as well as King Arthur’s Baking for the department store (Jordan Marsh) copycat version. It calls for a lot of blueberries which is excellent for my blueberry rescue efforts, and is super moist because of the mashed-up blueberries. So, for this Blueberry Streusel Loaf, I used this recipe and put them into 2 loaf sleeves and adjusted the baking time.

And yes, I added a streusel topping.

Batter (for 2 loaves, 4 in x 9 in each)
  • 115g softened butter
  • 150g  sugar (original calls for 198g)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 240g flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ cup milk
  • 300g blueberries, washed, drained 
Streusel Topping (the original recipe is topped with granulated sugar)
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 45g flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 65g butter (chilled)
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Centigrade
  2. Cream the butter & sugar.
  3. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well.
  4. Add vanilla.
  5. Fold the flour, salt & baking powder into the mixture, alternately with the milk.
  6. Crush 100g (1/3 of the total amount) blueberries with your mixing spoon or fork. Mix into the batter.
  7. Fold in the remaining blueberries.
  8. Scoop batter into 2 loaf tins (4in x 9in)
  9. To make streusel topping: mix together brown sugar, flour & cinnamon powder. Rub in the chilled butter until like bread crumbs.
  10. Sprinkle the topping onto the loaves.
  11. Bake for 30-45 min, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

🫐 🫐 🫐

Friendly Friday Challenge is hosted in turn by Amanda at Something to Ponder About, Sandy at The Sandy Chronicles & Sarah at Travel with Me. For this fortnight (until 28 July), Amanda collaborates with the fabulous Frank at Beach Walk Reflections on the theme of Shapes.

23 Comments

  1. I like your approach on shapes through your recipe – especially because i didn;t come up with the idea! Besides looking at the tasty treat, the theme made me look at the images differently. Well done, Ju-Lyn …. and thanks for the pingback!

    Like

  2. My goodness, that looks tasty. I’ve never thought about a favorite baking shape! I guess I don’t bake often enough, though I can say that cupcakes are a bit of a pain, huh? Loaves or squares or rectangles sound about equal to me.

    Like

Leave a comment