contemplating sustenance

Happy Place, Happy Space

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?  … See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these… Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 6:26, 28, 34

A happy day is an Ugly Food pickup day. I love my food rescue grocer and the Surprise Bundles we get from them. This week, we had fancy string beans and momotaros.

This past week, I have been contemplating availability and accessibility in the quest for sustainability. Eggs have been on my mind. Singapore does not permit the rearing of free-range chickens, apparently for fear of outbreak of avian flu; we can only get cage-free eggs. There are free-range eggs imported from Australia, but that would be eating far from local. As a vegetarian, eggs play a big part in my weekly consumption. Do I give up/reduce egg intake in favour of vegan alternatives, like chickpea flour omelettes, flaxseed baked goods. What do you think?

🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚

A Big Smile came in the mail – Laurie’s card has reached me – this lovely New Year’s greeting was “taken about 20 years ago, on a cold January day at one of our favourite beaches in Maine”.

And because there is no such thing as too many bookmarks, I have 3 from The Great Library series to add to my collection! Thank you Laurie!

🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in Happy Place, Happy Space, ping back to this post and I will include you next week

🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚 🥚

This post is my contribution to