window to Japan

Happy Place, Happy Space

We are looking forward to a trip to Japan with my parents & our kiddies. Mid-October, when the weather will hopefully cool down, we will fly into Tokyo, bullet train to Kyoto, and fly out of Osaka, for a total of 2 weeks.

Drove Mom & Dad through their childhood neighbourhoods this week. Popped in for a visit at the Japanese Cemetery Park.

Located in the heartland district of Hougang, the Japanese Cemetery Park is a tranquil memorial that once served the burial needs of Japanese residents in Singapore.

The largest and most well-preserved Japanese cemetery in Southeast Asia, this 30,000 square-metre memorial park provides a glimpse into Singapore’s past, with 1,000 graves holding the remains of the dearly departed.

VisitSingapore.com

Accommodating Mom & Dad, posing whenever requested.

A kitty followed us around for a bit, and finally left us at the Prayer Hall.

This visit is a prelude and window into sights we might see in Japan, like this vending machine.

Semblance of a zen rock garden (left), and statues dressed in red cloth, which apparently is a representation of Jizo, a divine figure in Shinto Buddhism (right).

Note: Feature Photo shows a 1) Memorial for the Japanese troops who were interned in Singapore after the surrender (right), and 2) statues dressed in red cloth, a representation of Jizo a divine figure in Shinto Buddhism

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

This post is my contribution to

30 Comments

  1. Hubby and I love a cemetery with overseas nationals. They are so interesting and you realise people travelled hundreds of years ago. I’m surprised that the Japanese were not shipped back to Japan.

    Like

    1. Several months down the road, and post-trip, I am happy to report sheltered vending machines are not a thing in Japan – at least not the parts I visited!

      Like

  2. How exciting, to go to Japan! Mentioning war graves I can’t help but think of some of the atrocities that were committed back then, Ju-Lyn. It would be interesting to know more of the culture, and who doesn’t want to see Fiji and go to Kyoto?

    Like

    1. I’m afraid the price of war is too horrible and too high, Jo, so I really do feel you. Which always makes me wonder why we never seem to learn from history.

      We are very excited to make our way to Japan again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment