unexpected

Happy Place, Happy Space

I did something different this week. Instead of running around the neighbourhood, I hitched a ride with Loving Husband as he drove to school, and started my run at the Buona Vista entry point to the reopened Rail Corridor. Some parts of it are still being refurbished, but the stretch I explored is mostly restored to walkers, runners & cyclists.

Offering you more than 21 km of continuous connectivity along the Rail Corridor … all the way from north to south with this new opening. There are now more than 30 access paths connecting neighboring residents and communities to the Rail Corridor!

National Parks

One of the highlights along the Rail Corridor is the conserved Bukit Timah Railway Station.

The conserved Bukit Timah Railway Station building was built in 1932 and is one of two extant railway stations in Singapore. Along with its key architectural and railway elements, the railway station has been sensitively and carefully restored and repurposed as a heritage gallery for visitors to learn about its history and that of the Rail Corridor.

National Park

After a satisfying run through a small portion of this green space, I ran towards the train station which would take me home. Unexpectedly, I came across this gem.

I nickname this work “Touch Up”. There is no record of the name of this mural, only that it was commisioned by OCBC Bank (that is the bank’s logo being painted/touched up) in 2012, painted by mural artist Trase Oner. It took me a while to work out that it was a mural and not, in fact, men at work.

How would you caption or title this mural?

Upon closer examination, on the other side of the wall are people peeking out a window, presumably gawking at the human pyramid.

OCBC Bank 6th Ave Branch

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

This post is my contribution to

29 Comments

    1. oooooooo so excited to have you join in Happy Place, Happy Space!
      and what a vantage point to see Paris from! You obviously don’t have a fear of heights!

      Isn’t the extra bit clever? I would never have seen it if I wasn’t just poking around, as there is a tree in the way!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Ah! I think cliff edges are a little tricky anyhow, especially with gusty winds! I think I am also mostly ok with barriered heights, although my experience so far has been with static locations (eg. top of a building, etc), not in a moving one!

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I would name it “They Don’t Pay Me Enough for This!”… Is the Rail Corridor a trail next to the tracks? Most of the “Rail Trails” around here are when the tracks are pulled up and a trail put in its place.

    Like

    1. Indeed they don’t, pay them enough for that, that is!
      Our Rail Corridor is as you say, trail in place of tracks. Actually, it was dormant for many years before they were refurbished – many trail runners used it as training on grass (and mud). There was even a race held there: https://www.greenrun.com.sg/

      Now that it has been refurbished, it is less wild and more accessible. Pros and cons. More people will certainly use it, but it is no longer the kind of respite from civilization that it once as.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment