The Changing Seasons, July 2023


Reflection on the month past

July was another family-filled month with Exuberant Sis in town. We miss her presence when she returned to Phoenix.

One of our moments this month was coming across this unexpected photo op at Younger Child’s dance film premiere, “Seeds: Here. Not here”. The new Barbie film was showing at the same venue so we crashed their space.

From our kitchen:

From top left, clockwise: banana pancakes, strawberry cake, triple chocolate coffee cake , upside down plum cake, breakfast open-face sandwich

About The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is a monthly project where bloggers around the world share their thoughts and feelings about the month just gone. We all approach this slightly differently, though generally with an emphasis on the photos we’ve taken during the month.

For many of us, looking back over these photos provides the structure and narrative of our post, so each month is different. Some focus on documenting the changes in a particular project — such as a garden, an art or craft project, or a photographic diary of a familiar landscape.

But in the end, it is your changing season, and you should approach it however works for you.

There are no fixed rules around post length or photo number — just a request that you respect your readers’ time and engagement.

Tags and ping-backs

Tag your photos with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons so that others can find them

Create a ping-back to Brian at Bushboys World or this post, so that we can update it with links to all of yours.

Roundup

33 Comments

  1. My July was also filled with family activities as my Uncle’s family came over from Chicago for a 3 weeks of stay. It was fun all along with the whole family.
    Mind if I try out the Triple Chocolate Coffee Cake first?

    Like

  2. Hi Ju-Lyn, I didn’t know your sister was in Phoenix. Do you ever visit her? You could come to one of our blogger meetups. That would be so fun! I’m with Marilyn about your food. You should be a food photographer. I don’t know how you make the gorgeous stuff you do, and how you photograph it is still another skill. I also don’t know how you don’t weigh 300 pounds. I am up to walking about 5 miles a day, and I eat like I like, (just not as elegant as yours) but it doesn’t take a pound off me! LOL Your month sounds wonderful. I hope your August is just as lovely. 🙂

    Like

    1. If I am ever in the neighborhood, I would love to come to a meet up! I haven’t been back to the US for decades – my sister kindly comes home to visit as my parents still live in Singapore.

      You & Marilyn are so sweet & encouraging – I feel more confident about capturing sweeties; I still struggle with savoury foods.

      I hear what you mean about the exercise & eating. Because I run short distances and quite slowly, it doesn’t encourage weight loss – I do get to eat what I like, so there’s that 😆 I find that with menopause, my body isn’t responding in quite the same way to running, so am now having to be more diligent about doing some weighted exercises too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Weight is always an issue. I used to be too skinny, but those days are long gone. I’m holding my own with the 4-5 miles of walking each day, but it’s a bigger number than I wish it were. I love to eat. My friendly trainer tells me that is the culprit. Oh well! 🙂

        Like

        1. Goodness! You walk everyday! That is fabulous! Too fat, too skinny, it never ends, right? I think you & I have the healthy mindset which allows us to enjoy the eating & the active life!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I am so grateful to be able to be active. Seriously! Being able to move is life-giving. I’ve had a brief taste of what it would mean to lose it, and it changes your mindset! 🙂

            Like

  3. These crazy months need to slow down! Wasn’t the month just beginning the last time I looked around? Your food totally slays me. Is that smoked salmon on that breakfast sandwich and if it is, can you send me some, puleeze?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment