The Changing Seasons: July 2021

Happy Place, Happy Space

Previously hosted by Su at zimmerbitch, Brian at BushboysWorld and I will co-host The Changing Seasons. while Su takes a restorative break.

🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴

It’s been another roller-coaster month of Restrictions. Enough said.

It was otherwise an idyllic vacation month with Loving Husband on break: lots of time for Run Dates, balcony garden flourishing with Loving Husband’s extra attention, playing local tourists as we visited some of Singapore’s fun spots.

🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴

My big obsession in the kitchen this month was with Banchan, little eats of Korean origin. I had a hankering for these but as we do not dine out, I decided it was time to venture into a cuisine I previously only enjoyed in restaurants.

🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴

About The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is a monthly project where bloggers around the world share their thoughts and feelings about the month just gone. We all approach this slightly differently — though generally with an emphasis on the photos we’ve taken during the month.

For many of us, looking back over these photos provides the structure and narrative of our post, so each month is different. Some focus on documenting the changes in a particular project — such as a garden, an art or craft project, or a photographic diary of a familiar landscape.

But in the end, it is your changing season, and you should approach it however works for you.

There are no fixed rules around post length or photo number — just a request that you respect your readers’ time and engagement.

Tags and ping-backs

Tag your photos with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons so that others can find them

Create a ping-back to Brian’s post or this post, so that we can update it with links to all of yours.

Roundup

🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴 🌴

This post is my contribution to

Feature photo was taken in the Flower Dome, Gardens by the Bay

76 Comments

  1. I would like to order a single Oi Muchim, please 😀
    Apart from all the negative aspects of this pandemic, being able to spend more time with family is certainly a big positive point.
    And enjoying homemade cuisines is what I look forward to.

    Like

  2. Hoohoo! I’m so in love with that beautiful owl!!! And even though I’ve just had a bowl of penne rigate with tuna and tomatoes I find myself drooling over that rolled omelette. 😉 Wishing you a beautiful August, Ju-Lyn! xo

    Like

  3. What a feast you have made for us, Ju-Lyn. And many thanks to you and Brian for securing this particular Happy Space – such a special resort for many of us in these weird times.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you came by to feast with me!
      The Changing Seasons has been a special place for me too – so I am very glad that Brian & I are able to host it for a good number of years to come!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Singapore is a beautiful place and we felt very welcome the few times we’ve been tourists. We even had the opportunity to indulge in Korean food and tried something new. Yes, it must be hard to be in and out of lockdown. Crazy world we live in!

    Like

    1. It is a crazy time, and I am glad that we had the chance to travel before, and that you had the chance to visit Singapore. Keep safe and well while we dream of the day we can move about freely again.

      Like

  5. It is always a delight to visit your blog, Ju-Lyn and remind me of those iconic Singaporean scenes. Looking at all those dishes makes me think of how many recipes I have yet to try. I am impressed that you cooked them all! Well done! They look like a fair bit of work? Most of those foods I haven’t tried and I think the spiced cucumber is one I would try first! I followed the link to Banchan and the fish cakes caught my eye as well.

    Like

    1. Appreciate so much your kind words of encouragement, Amanda – you are a booster to my day!

      The actual recipes are pretty straightforward- what took some doing is gathering ingredients. A bit of an investment & effort, but now that it’s done, it all goes fairly quickly. The spiced cukes are one of my favourite!

      Like

  6. Ju-Lyn, Very nice view of the Civic District and how creative is the owl. Your food dishes look amazing. Thank you for the mention and for linking up with #weekendcoffeeshare.

    Like

  7. Sounds like a good month. That owl though 😛 Was it up high? Or more eye level? Cute little hidden sculpture. Enjoy your Korean eats! xo

    Like

  8. That Banchan spread looks delicious. Did you cook them all? It reminded me of when we went to Korea in 2004 to meet our future Korean in laws and go to our sons wedding to his Korean wife. They put on an incredible array of small dishes. Until this post I didn’t know they had a collective name. Working on my monthly post today, while we are in a 3 day snap lockdown. How the world has changed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are indeed right – the world is much different now than 2 years ago. It’s just lockdowns on and off, on and off, it feels like.

      So glad to hear from you – I thought of you & Jack when I was running a forest trail last week. I remember learning the term “komorebi” from you some time back and that was exactly what the sun was doing that morning!

      I did make the banchan, although I only had 2-3 in hand at a time. I still have a few more I would like to try, so the project continues into August! Thank you for sharing your connection to Korea – I have never been, so my experience is limited to some cuisine & KDramas!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I so concur with your comment, Pommepal. I am so glad I took the chance to travel when it was such a casual decision. Times have changed and look like they are getting worse before there is any improvement.

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Absolutely! I, too, am glad that we travelled as much as we did when we could. There were times when we wondered if we should have saved our money instead of taking a trip to such and such a place. I’m glad we actually made those trips.

              Liked by 1 person

                1. It’s funny that you should say this, Pauline, because that’s how we comforted ourselves back then when we were paying off travel bills. If only we knew then what we would be going through now …. we would have gone on more trips!!!!

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment