love

Happy Place, Happy Space

Distance means so little when someone means so much.

Tom McNeal, Far Far Away

True though that might be, I am so happy to report that London Aunt & Uncle are finally able to make plans again towards visiting us. The renovations of their neighbour are finally winding down and it looks like they will be able to come out at the end of the month.

I often run past Clarke Quay Central’s Locks of Love.

Love locks—padlocks typically engraved with a couple’s name and the date before being placed on bridges, fences, statues, or other installations to commemorate their indestructible bond—are a fun display of affection and a sweet symbol of your lifelong commitment to one another.

Brides.com

The popularity of “love locks” can be traced back to the story of a schoolteacher named Nada and an army officer named Relja in the small Serbian town of Vrnjacka Banja. The couple pledged their love to one another while standing on a local bridge before Relja went off to fight in World War I.

99PercentInvisible

Management of Clarke Quay Central must have thought this a good idea as they started this service in 2015. But all that remains today is this heart structure and its locks. All the locks which hung on the railing near Coleman Bridge have been removed.

Loving Husband and I don’t do anything in particular for Valentine’s Day; which is just as well as this year, it is also Ash Wednesday. We do have overseas family coming over to play games.

Younger Child has commemorated with a poem.

If you celebrate Valentine’s Day, what do you have planned?

❤️ ❤️ ❤️

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

❤️ ❤️ ❤️

This post is my contribution to

26 Comments

  1. It’s nice getting to know the history behind love lock bridges. I agree with Bernie’s comment on some bridges having to be closed because of the heavy weight of the locks. There used to be a love lock bridge here in Melbourne and I would walk by once a week or so. And each time the number of locks seemed to only grow. Then the locks were taken away because it was deemed to heavy and the risk of the bridge buckling into the water below – and now it is just an normal bridge. But the idea and sentiment behind it was nice.

    I hope you and overseas family have a good time playing games. It was lovely catching up with you this evening 😊

    Like

    1. So very glad to have you visit, Mabel. It must have been a sight to see the growing number of locks each time you walked by … so many people leaving their mark and wishes for lots of good things.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s interesting that in some places bridges have had to be closed because the weight of thousands of locks makes them structurally unsound.
    As to Valentines we don’t do anything special. Glad your family is able to come for a visit and that you had a games night. Those are so fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The things we learn when we poke around in preparation for our own blogposts! I love it!

      Do you play games too Bernie? I never was a board game sort of person (my siblings are extremely competitive) but Loving Husband and the children are. Through our family game time, I have come to enjoy the more collaborative and friendlier games we play.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hooray, the Londoners are finally coming! Nothing in particular for us today, even if it weren’t Ash Wednesday. But, I guess you could say it was loving when, this morning, as I attended Mass at the school, Hubby wound up putting ashes on me and he didn’t slather them all over my face. 🙂

    Like

  4. A lovely post with happy thoughts, Ju-lyn. I didn’t know about the history behind the love locks. That makes it special. We have placed a lock for fun at Lake Havasau, in Arizona. It was our anniversary at the time. For Valentines this year, I got some sweet treats for my grandkids and wrote them a funny poem to reflect their goings on these days. Sometimes we do something and other times avoid the crowds.

    Like

    1. I didn’t know about the love locks either – nor that it is such a thing around the world! One of the joys of blogging is finding out more about what I am writing about. Thank you for sharing your experience at Lake Havasau – lovely way to commemorate this occasion.

      You grandkids sure are lucky to have you host a celebration. Any chance to affirm and encourage, right?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment