another pancake recipe

What’s On Your Plate

I’ve used the this Light Fluffy Whole Wheat Pancakes for years. It is fluffy, employs wholewheat and very versatile (we use it for savoury as well as sweet pancakes).

Then, Jetsetting Neighbour returned from a trip to the UK and brought Younger Child a souvenir from our favourite UK supermarket.

Of course, Adventurous-in-the-Kitchen Child had to try this out (with some eye-rolling on my part)

We did make some changes:

  1. we used whole rolled oats instead of porridge oats
  2. we used soy milk instead of oat milk
  3. we used 4 small bananas

I was very surprised at how delicious they turned out: chewy but still light enough, with a pleasant flavour. They also reheat remarkably well after being stored in the fridge for a couple of days.

We have made it several times since; with each repetition, we are replacing the white flour with a little more wholewheat flour. We will see how far we get.

Do you have a favourite pancake recipe? Do you enjoy experimenting with recipes?

This post is my contribution to What’s On Your Plate Challenge hosted by Debbie at The Widow Badass & Donna at Retirement Reflections.

17 Comments

  1. You know what, Ju-Lyn. It just so happens couple of days ago I was thinking about pancakes and trying to remember how I used to make them! It has been a while since I made pancakes. So it was lovely to see you post about pancakes and a recipe.

    I don’t have a pancake recipe that I follow. If I want pancakes, I will google and follow the instructions that come up. We seem to have similar tastes in pancakes – chewy but light. If I am not making breakfast pancakes, I like to make dessert pancakes – with a scoop of ice-cream on top 😊

    Like

    1. I have to admit that pancakes are not limited to breakfast in our household. As the kids prefer savoury cheese & chives, they often have it for lunch or dinner as well. I love the thought of dessert pancakes – ice cream will certainly up the game!

      Like

      1. That is a good thought, that pancakes can be eaten any time of the day. I haven’t actually thought about savoury pancakes. Now that you mention it, cheese and chives pancakes sound appealing. I might look into it 🙂

        Like

    1. What are your favourite ways to pancake, Laurie?
      I will pass on your compliments to Younger Child – she will tell you she is always very happy in the kitchen because she is busy putting love in her food.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment