The Changing Seasons, November 2023

Reflecting on the month past

It has been a rainy month in Singapore; it has not stopped us from enjoying the 30 days which zipped by.

Celebrated Loving Husband.

Rubbed shoulders with Singapore’s literary giants, culinary gurus & fashion trailblazers at the Singapore Writer’s Festival

Memorable was Robert Yeo‘s book launch with I attended with my StillReadsPaperBooks Dad; they were classmates in secondary school and have been in touch recently on account of poetry.

Robert Yeo takes pride in being both a civil servant and a political writer, and sees no contradiction between his two roles. The 83-year-old pioneer writer has published a new memoir Routes 2. The candid book, which spans 1976 to 2000, is a window into a period of Yeo’s life when he wrote some of his most political works.

Straits Times

Enjoyed whimsy & visiting with friends at the Singapore Clay Festival.

Part of Hiroko Mita‘s Flow Line series.

The intricate spiral strand of clay symbolizes the individuals, corporations, and organization of our society. All are unique with different backgrounds, race, religion, gender, age, and culture. Each strand adds their strength into a whole, and together some areas are merged. They create many shapes while balancing and ascends to greater heights in unison.

from the artist’s Instagram

Despite the rain, we found many windows to the outdoors.

Sunrise run at Marina South Promenade

As always, lots of fun in the kitchen:

From top left, clockwise: 1) replenishing our weekly stash of bagels, 2) napa cabbage & spring onions from our rescue food grocer made into kimchi, 3) radishes from our rescue grocer also pickled, 4) Victoria Sponge Younger Child made for one of Loving Husband’s celebrations, 5) fish (which I don’t cook often) grilled with vegetables from rescue grocer, 6) Croissant French Toast (because I lucked upon clearance croissant (read: slightly crushed and deflated), 7) aubergine parmagiana, 8) gingerbread loaves tested in preparation for Christmas

Wishing you a Blessed Advent, a Merry Christmas and a stupendous start to the New Year.

How was your November?

About The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is a monthly project where bloggers around the world share their thoughts and feelings about the month just gone. We all approach this slightly differently, though generally with an emphasis on the photos we’ve taken during the month.

For many of us, looking back over these photos provides the structure and narrative of our post, so each month is different. Some focus on documenting the changes in a particular project — such as a garden, an art or craft project, or a photographic diary of a familiar landscape.

But in the end, it is your changing season, and you should approach it however works for you.

There are no fixed rules around post length or photo number — just a request that you respect your readers’ time and engagement.

Tags and ping-backs

Tag your photos with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons so that others can find them

Create a ping-back to Brian at Bushboys World or this post, so that we can update it with links to all of yours.

Roundup

Linking up with What’s Been On Your Calendar, cohosted by Donna at Retirement Reflections

69 Comments

    1. Thank you Esther! It has been good thus far – I love the meditation that comes with the Advent season. Now if only I can sustain this through the craziness that comes with the rest of the month.

      Like

      1. I feel the same way too! This month gets overwhelming, but I’m trying to keep some balance to it that I don’t get burned out.
        Happy to hear it’s been good thus far. Keep it going! God’s mercies are new each morning. 🙂

        Like

          1. Thank you, Ju-Lyn, for suggesting that! I’ve seen those apps but I haven’t used it yet. It’s been a hectic month and I’m having a hard time slowing down mentally. I’m waiting to hear when Ellis will have surgery for her g-tube stomach lining, so my kind is all over the place as we wait for the hospital to set up the date. This is when I need those apps most too!!
            Thank you for your recommendation. 🙂

            Like

            1. Not at all – I heard about Hallow through this podcast I follow called Bible in a Year. I am very much enjoying the Advent reflections.

              Thank you for helping me pray more specifically for you & Ellis. And Elliot & the rest of your family. It is very challenging when a loved one has medical challenges, what more a child. Younger Child had to have heart repair when she was younger, and it is a matter of time before she will require another surgery, so I really empathise with your state of mind.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Have you seen “The Chosen”? Jonathan Roumie plays Jesus in that series and it’s so good!! When we had Covid in March this year, we binge watched “The Chosen” and was so blessed by the shows.
                Thank you for your prayers. It’s very special that my blogging community prays for us. I hear what you are saying…medical challenges for a loved one places a lot of worry and stress on the family, as well as the person facing the illness. I’ll keep you and your family in my prayers too. We have a surgery coming up the first week of January for tightening up the stomach lining for Ellis.

                Like

                1. I have not seen The Chosen. But Jonathan Roumie has such a soothing voice.

                  Isn’t it marvellous that we find praying friends in unexpected places? We continue to hold Ellis (and the rest of you) in prayer.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. When you get a chance, you should check out “The Chosen.” You will enjoy it greatly. Season 4 is coming out in February and they have a trailer on YouTube.
                    I agree with you…it’s wonderful to find praying friends and to journey through life together! And the blogging world is the perfect place to meet new friends and share interests and prayer requests.

                    Like

  1. Sounds like you got up to quite a bit this month. All that food looks delicious, from the bagels to the vegetables and cakes. I hope the gingerbread loaves turned out great. Here in Australia it has been rainy the last few weeks, but looking like more sunshine as we head into summer and end of year festivities. Wishing you a wonderful season and end of the year 🙂

    Like

  2. What a delicious and cultural month you’ve had – the Writer’s Festival would have been great to attend. Happy birthday to your husband and merry Christmas to you too. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  3. Hi Ju-Lyn, it’s great to have your post link up to our #WBOYC and to see how you managed to get through a wet month with lots of fun activities and yummy food. All the best for December.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the two-fer; it is a bonus for us and as always, we love having you at The Changing Seasons.

      Although the rain makes planning outdoor activities a little tricky, I love the cooler weather that comes with the monsoons. I could run this morning with relative ease because I wasn’t sweltering!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the well-wishes – I will pass them on to Loving Husband … he does love celebrating!

      So happy to have you at The Changing Seasons: hope your December is off to a great start!

      Like

  4. Your posts are always so yummy and uplifting, Ju-Lyn. Your hubby’s birthday cake almost left the computer and landed at my house! Such creative talent. It’s serendipitous that this link will go to my “creative” WQ theme for this week. Have a wonderful December, my friend. 🙂

    Like

    1. Always a delight to hear from you, Marsha – and thank you for linking me into your WQ post! it is very exciting and I am so pleased to be included.

      It really is a pity we live so far apart – we are always looking for willing recipients of our kitchen experiments.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beijing has (or atleast had) a wonderful annual Writer’s Festival which I still miss dearly. Your husband’s cake, and your other wonderful food pics, look absolutely delicious. Thank you for sharing this all with us. Wishing you a wonderful December ahead!

    Like

    1. A gathering of like-minded folks is always welcome! Are there any such festivals near you?

      Thank you for your encouragement & affirmation of our kitchen shennanigans – we do have fun!

      Like

  6. It’s so wonderful that you let us share in your joy! How amazing that your dad and his secondary school author friend are still in touch! Great birthday cake for Hubby! (Happy birthday, Ju-Lyn’s hubby!) And I appreciate that the Christmas tree and the building behind it match, and that you took your pic at such an angle as to showcase that. 🙂

    Like

    1. So happy you noticed the Christmas tree matching the building!!!

      It is wonderful that school friends keep in touch – I am terrible at that … I hardly even have anyone from college that I still stay in touch with. My Dad obviously does a good job keeping in touch; Loving Husband as well, has gatherings with primary school mates still.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So much yumminess, lucky it’s just before bedtime so I am not tempted 😋😂 I like the clay work, quite interesting. Happy birthday to LH
    Still organising my photos so sometime tomorrow hopefully I’ll have my Changing Seasons post up.
    From StillReadsPaperBooks bushboy 📖😂

    Like

  8. If I were still up for traveling, Singapore would be one of the top two countries I’d want to visit for the architecture — and the food. I don’t have a lot of pictures this month — or, more to the point, most of my pictures are of the same things — Christmas cactus. I’ll just have to process more pictures that don’t look exactly like the pictures I processed today!

    Your pictures always make me hungry. This month is no different.

    Like

    1. I hear you – the thought of packing and getting on the plane frankly just doesn’t appeal to me much. I am glad that you would consider Singapore if you did.

      Can’t wait to view your Christmas cacti!

      Like

      1. It is one of the most interesting nations. It isn’t one nation. It is, as our messy nation is, a conglomerate of people and fascinating. Pity I’m past the airport, airplane, standing in line while they cancel our flight stuff. I stopped enjoying flying before I hit 21 and it has gotten more uncomfortable and treacherous ever since. If only they would invent a functional transporter, eh?

        Like

Leave a comment