distant fall colours

Happy Place, Happy Space: Japan Memories (Oct’23)

Japan in the 2nd half of October – surely we would catch the changing of the leaves, some lovely fall scenery. But sadly, the warm weather was slow to recede and it wasn’t enough for the leaves to turn.

On our last day in Kyoto though, when we visited the Kyoto Museum of Craft and Design, we managed to catch a glimpse of fall in the distance.

Not only was the museum an informative, educational and well-curated display of Kyoto’s traditional crafts, we enjoyed the sun setting on this interesting outdoor sculpture, along with the fiery autumn leaves.

Has autumn arrived for those of you in the Northern Hemisphere?

🍂 🍂 🍂

Reading your Joyful Posts brings me to my happy place. I hope having them in one place makes it easier for you to find when you need a bit of happy therapy, too.

If you would like to join in, tag your post with #happyplacehappyspace & ping back to this post and I will include you next week.

🍂 🍂 🍂

This post is my contribution to

18 Comments

      1. I was talking with a friend yesterday who was recently in the US. She told me the colours there are turning later than usual and the same seems to be the case here in the UK. Maybe it’s a worldwide phenomenon?!

        Like

  1. What fun! There is a tree in the neighbor’s yard that I can look out my window and watch slowly change color. Those leaves more in the sun changing first; the green ones are more shaded. I’ll enjoy it while I can and be sad when they’re all gone, but I’m always delighted when they return fresh and green in the spring.

    BTW, sort of in your neck of the woods–I’ve been introduced to K-Dramas! Hubs and I are currently addicted to Crashing Landing on You. By any chance, have you seen?

    Like

    1. Your very own tree which you can watch through the seasons – nice!

      K-Dramas are terribly addictive (as you already know) – I particularly like them when they allow me into a world that I am not familiar with (in Crash Landing’s case, the tension between North & South). What will you watch next? Which platform do you get your KDs?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ju-Lyn, Thank you for your PPAC and Weekend Coffee Share contribution. I love Kyoto and Japanese maples. The outdoor sculpture looks abstract. So good that you experienced Kyoto and some autumn colours when you were in Japan. In my corner of the world, autumn colours peaked in mid to late October and just a bit left at the moment. I took some photos that I hope to share next week.

    Like

Leave a comment