5 mins with a boy and his dog

Roundup of The Changing Seasons, May 2023

Early one morning, I ran along the Singapore River and met a boy. And his dog.

Fishing was the livelihood of the locals during the colonial times … As Singapore grew into a trading hub during the British rule, the River began being used as dumping ground leading to so much pollution that most of the fish had disappeared.

In 1977, .. the Ministry of Environment … started a project to clean up all water bodies in Singapore, from dredging to clearing of debris to improved river banks. By 1987 … fishing in the River became possible again!

Singapore River SG

This adorable sculpture of a boy and his dog is entitled “Fishing at Singapore River” (2004), by Chern Lian Shan. From here is a good view of the colourful Old Hill Street Police Station, currently the home of Ministry of Communications & Information.

5 minutes with …

When I encounter public art, I try to take about 5 minutes to explore it from several angles, ever since I joined Delsey Jane in her “Regular Random, Five Minutes with …” Challenge. Sadly, Delsey Jane no longer blogs; since I still practice what I learned from her, I thought I would revive this practice and see if another one else might care to join me:

Delsey Jane‘s guidelines for “5 Minutes with … “

Version 1:

  • choose a subject or a scene (not just public art; anything at all)
  • spend five minutes photographing it – no more!
  • try to not interfere with the subject, instead see it from many angles, look through something at it, change the light that’s hitting it
  • have fun!
  • tag your post #5minsWith and ping back to this post

Version 2:

  • choose an object (anything that strikes your fancy)
  • spend five minutes photographing it – no more!
  • put the object in different locations to see how the background or surroundings can change the way the object looks
  • have fun!
  • tag your post #5minsWith and ping back to this post

It’s almost time for The Changing Seasons

The Changing Seasons is coming soon on 30 June 2023 (7:00 am, Singapore time). Hope you will join Brian and I for a wrap-up of June 2023 (follow this link to find out more about The Changing Seasons).

Thank you to those who shared their May 2023 with us:

Roundup of The Changing Seasons:

21 Comments

  1. Your commentary fitted in with the sculpture perfectly.
    The photos showed how different positions can affect the composition.
    A good idea for a challenge, I am sure you get a lot people involved.😎

    Like

  2. Thanks for celebrating ecological return of the Singapore River! As someone who has worked most of my life to ensure clean water (remember my interest in those sanitary waste discoveries you made?), I cheer with you. I also particularly like feature photo: all color and shimmer and texture and the charming boy & dog.

    Like

    1. Yes! I do remember your (and your students) interest in clean water & sanitation; as we all should be, if one thinks about it.

      Appreciate so much your delighting in my discoveries with me, no matter how small ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That is such an endearing sculpture. And a heartening story of how the river came back to life. Studying something for five minutes is such a great idea. It forces a person to slow down, to really look.

    Like

Leave a comment